This one’s been hanging around for a while, so I thought I’d put it up here.

It’s from a Purl Soho pattern called the Rochefort Chapeau, knit in Eggshell and Burgundy Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, on size 5 needles. Silky Wool is a really nice yarn–it’s not as soft, really, as the name would suggest, but kind of nubbly in an organic and matte and homey way–and yet not scratchy or stiff. The colors go along with the muted, homey feel.

I like the hat a lot, as does my sister, for whom I made it. It’s fresh and stylish but also old-fashioned-y, like something you found in a bin from your mom’s childhood that, shockingly, is back in style. It’s very unique, too–though modern and voguish, I’ve haven’t seen another soul wearing anything similar on the streets of NYC. It’s also light and loose enough to be a good transition hat–perfect for those slightly chilly, rainy spring days when a thick wool hat just seems depressing.

