I think spelling it with an “x” and adding the word “hiking” makes them more masculine. Because, in reality, they’re purple socks. Lucky for me, I have a man who doesn’t really feel threatened by princess colors.

So, Nick’s other passion is hiking. He shrunk his old wool hiking socks in the laundry a few weeks ago, and where he saw a pair of baby socks, I saw a knitting window.

These are just the Basic Socks #70739AD sized up for a man (project page). I’m knitting them on size 2 needles (magic looped, of course) in Zitron Trekking (XXL) in the Wine Twist colorway. It’s a nice, serviceable yarn. I like tonal striping, so that’s good.

I’m trying to orchestrate a great birthday for him involving hiking. I want to surprise him–give him the socks in the morning, tell him to try them on with his boots, and somehow whisk him away to Harriman State Park, the nearest really nice park to NYC (omg–the view from the top of East Mountain down the Hudson to the New York skyline in the distance–to die for); problem: we don’t have a car. I guess I could stuff him into a MetroNorth train, but I really don’t want to make him spend two hours on a train with no knowledge of where he’s going on his birthday. That would just be cruel. SO the planning continues…

As does the knitting. I have 3 weeks to complete these and the sailing gloves. I think I will… :/

