I love stockinette in the round. What can I say? The more mindless and tubular, the better. But sometimes I need something a little more complex to hold my interest. Enter The Back Panel of a Cardigan I’ve Been Working On For A Month.

I really like it. It’s pretty. But it also requires me to count rows, and math isn’t my strong suit. So it only comes out when I feel like putting on some good tunes and actually concentrate, rather than putting on a movie and knitting without looking down like I usually do.

This is being knit on size 7 needles in Debbie Stoller’s Stitch Nation Bamboo Ewe in Beach Glass that I got a few years ago when I was at Joann’s and they had it on sale. I started a bunch of projects with it but was never satisfied. This one, though, I think is adequate. It’s a free Debbie Stoller pattern by Julie Farmer, the Anisette Cardigan, and the cut is cute and the yarn does have enough stitch definition to show off the cabling. Not bad. I think it might be done before next fall!

